Impact Grants

Since its establishment in 2012, the Foundation has awarded nearly $1,000,000 in grants to CCSD students, teachers, and schools. All money raised by CCEF is returned to CCSD through donations, grant opportunities, and other support.

Through our Impact Grant Program, Cherokee County School District teachers can be awarded up to $2,500 for various classroom projects or items. We’ve seen some incredible applications come through and have had the honor to see them through to their completion. Some of the Impact Grants that have been awarded have been used to boost inclusivity and connection, encourage young musicians, and provide supplies for classroom robotics.

These larger-scale projects invest in the students as a whole and may not have been possible without additional funding. When you donate to CCEF, you are a part of students drumming up confidence and making strides in their education.

If you would like to donate, you can mail checks to P.O. Box 4754, Canton, Ga, 30014, or pay by credit card. For any questions or concerns, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Teachers: We will update this page with more information regarding Impact Grants as it’s available. We can’t wait to see your incredible ideas for ways to improve your student’s learning experience. You can also follow us on Facebook to stay up to date on everything going on at CCEF.

Note: Cherokee County Educational Foundation is currently unable to provide funding for iPads.  All iPads within CCSD are managed by the district to protect all students' privacy and security.

Cherokee County Educational Foundation is pleased to announce that twenty-three (23) teachers of the Cherokee County School District have been awarded Classroom Impact Grants for this school year.

Applications for Classroom Impact Grants opened in late November for funding up to $2,500 per classroom. A committee of five judges graded the applications (all teacher and school names are redacted and judges read applications based on strength of the grant written) individually and the scores are compiled and ranked. This year's judges included Whitney Spear of History Cherokee, Lori Burton, Cherokee County Council President of PTA, Jenny Spain, a retired CCSD school teacher, Shuntel Beach, Board of Directors member at REACH Foundation, and Dr. Gary Sullenger of Life University. The number of Grants awarded each year depends on fundraising efforts at the Annual Celebration of Education Gala. This year, more than $33,000 in Classroom Impact Grants will be awarded to the following teachers:

Ashley Russo, Oak Grove STEAM Academy

Ben Sexton, RM Moore Elementary STEM Academy

Lindsie Champion, Creekland Middle School

Vanessa Green, RM Moore Elementary STEM Academy

Kristin Derenthal, Hasty Elementary

Meredith Gulledge, Woodstock Middle School

Melissa Dingus, Active Academies

Lori Sewell, Active Academies

Keith Furstenberg, Free Home Elementary

Allison Jordan, Free Home Elementary

Amie Hannon, Knox STEM Academy

April Popham, LR Tippens

Sara Melcher, Creekland Middle school

Justin Norton, Woodstock MS

Savannah Holcomb, River Ridge HS

Derek Tobin, Creekland Middle School

Sandy McPherson, Clayton Elementary

Anna Ladefoged, Boston Elementary

Shelley Anderson, Creekland Middle School

Kristi Hefner, RM Moore Elementary STEM Academy

Abigail Schwegel, Johnston Elementary

Sarah Thornley, Cherokee High School

Heather Kuglin, Cherokee High School